SUMMER of ’69 by Elin Hilderbrand – SPOTLIGHT & GIVEAWAY

Hilderbrand_Summerof69 (1)

Four siblings experience the drama, intrigue, and upheaval of a summer when everything changedin New York Timesbestselling author Elin Hilderbrand’s first historical novel, SUMMER of ’69 (LittleBrown). 

Welcome to the most tumultuous summer of the twentieth century. It’s 1969, and for the Levin family, the times they are a-changing. Every year the children have looked forward to spending the summer at their grandmother’s historic home in downtown Nantucket.

But like so much else in America, nothing is the same: Blair, the oldest sister, is marooned in Boston, pregnant with twins and unable to travel. Middle sister Kirby, caught up in the thrilling vortex of civil rights protests and determined to be independent, takes a summer job on Martha’s Vineyard. Only-son Tiger is an infantry soldier, recently deployed to Vietnam. Thirteen-year-old Jessie suddenly feels like an only child, marooned in the house with her out-of-touch grandmother and her worried mother, each of them hiding a troubling secret. As the summer heats up, Ted Kennedy sinks a car in Chappaquiddick, man flies to the moon, and Jessie and her family experience their own dramatic upheavals along with the rest of the country.

In her first historical novel, rich with the details of an era that shaped both a nation and an island thirty miles out to sea, Elin Hilderbrand once again earns her title as queen of the summer novel.

*****

 

Elin Hilderbrand is a graduate of The Johns Hopkins University and the Iowa Writers Workshop. She has lived on Nantucket for 25 years and is the mother of three teenagers. THE PERFECT COUPLE is her twenty-first novel.

ROSIE COLORED GLASSES by Brianna Wolfson – SPOTLIGHT & Giveaway

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

rosie

As a nation, we’re still in the midst of our tragedy, an era when opioid addiction is one of the greatest public health threats in the United States. ROSIE COLORED GLASSES (MIRA) is a barb and a balm for this time, a story full of painful truths, empathy, grief, unexpected redemption, and above all love.

 In the divorce, eleven-year-old Willow knows where her loyalties lie: her mother, Rosie. Rosie is skipped school, tree house slumber parties, and ice cream dinners. Rex, her father, is lists and rules and lips pressed into a tight, thin line. Then Rosie stops joining Willow and her brother’s dance parties before bed, and often she’s asleep before they can even say goodnight. Things get stranger, and Willow almost can’t admit to herself how comforting Rex’s sternness is starting to become. As the family’s crisis deepens, the gap between what Willow knows and what her parents hide from her—for her protection, in her father’s case; shame and denial in her mother’s—creates a heartbreaking tension.

*****

Author of Rosie Colored Glasses. Performer at The Moth. San Francisco dweller, Brianna Wolfson thinks and writes about family stuff. Does the crossword in pencil. Plays the lottery on Fridays.  Always in good company.

We have one copy to giveaway thanks to MIRA books. Just tell us which book you’re looking forwarding to reading? It’s almost summer, and there are so many to get to. We’ll announce a winner soon. Good luck.

GIVEAWAY: USA only please.

MONTAUK by Nicola Harrison – GIVEAWAY

GIVEAWAY CLOSEDmontauk

I was thrilled to see a novel written about one of my old summer stomping grounds. And then to find out it’s written by a former writing workshop friend from the Southampton Writer’s Conference, I was beside myself. Written by debut author, Nicole Harrison, MONTAUK (St.MartinsPress) is a gem. It’s an ode to a very special locale and place in time.

It’s 1938 when Beatrice Bordeaux, raised middle class, marries into the wealthy Bordeaux family and her life completely changes. She divides her time between Manhattan and Long Island, spending all summer in the small but growing town of Montauk, located at the very tip of Long Island. Beatrice finds herself not fitting in. She hasn’t been able to become a mom, and her background is very different from the other ladies who summer in the isolated town.

Beatrice spends her first summer in Montauk on a journey of self-realization. While trying to discover the true essence of who she is, she’ll put herself at odds with her husband and his family.

Nicole’s novel is a luscious cinematic reading experience. As MONTAUK slowly unfolds sharing the beauty of the east end of Long Island; the gorgeous landscape, the famous lighthouse and the smell of the powerful Atlantic ocean. In additon to the beauty, there’s an ugliness between the locales and city people that cannot be ignored. It feels a bit Downton Abbey, but it’s rooted in the American folklore of the time.

*****

nicola

 

Originally from Hampshire, England, Nicola Harrison moved to California when she was 14. She studied Literature at UCLA and received an MFA in creative writing at Stony Brook University. She is a member of The Writers Room and has short stories published in The Southampton Review and Glimmer Train as well as articles in Los Angeles Magazine and Orange Coast Magazine. She was the fashion and style staff writer for Forbes and had a weekly column at Lucky Magazine. Nicola is also the founder of a personal styling business, Harrison Style. She has spent many summers in Montauk and currently lives in Greenwich Village, Manhattan. This is her first novel.

http://www.nicolaharrison.com

 

Just found out we can do a giveaway. Just tell us what’s your favorite part of summer. We’ll announce a winner soon. Good luck.

GIVEAWAY: USA only, please

** JUNE WINNERS ** JUNE WINNERS ** JUNE WINNERS **

june

CONGRATULATIONS TO SOME OF OUR JUNE WINNERS!

BETSEY B wins THE SEASON of SILVER LININGS

silver

DOREEN L wins WAISTED

waisted

PEGGY C. wins WARRIOR WON

warrior

KATHY F wins THE SHADOW WRITER

MARIA B wins THE CHILDFREE SOCIETY CLUB

childfree

LINDSEY M. wins DEEP WATER BLUES

deep

KIMBERLEY H. wins I’LL NEVER TELL

never

ZUCCIE  and MARIBEL R BOTH win copies of  Valencia and Valentine

Valencia and Valentine-27595-CV-FT-2

 

ENJOY YOUR SUMMER and BE SURE TO ENTER MORE CONTESTS!

YOU CAN’T WIN IF YOU DON’T ENTER!

watermelon

 

THE FAVORITE DAUGHTER by Patti Callahan Henry – SPOTLIGHT & Giveaway

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

favorite.jpg

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Bookshop at Water’s End, Patti Callahan Henry offers THE FAVORITE DAUGHTER (Berkley). It’s a lush, heart-wrenching novel about the power of memory, the meaning of family, and learning to forgive. 

Ten years ago, Lena Donohue experienced a wedding-day betrayal so painful that she fled the small town of Watersend, South Carolina, and reinvented herself in New York City. Though now a freelance travel writer, the one place she rarely goes is home–until she learns of her dad’s failing health.

Returning to Watersend means seeing the sister she has avoided for a decade and the brother who runs the family’s Irish pub and has borne the burden of his sisters’ rift. While Alzheimer’s slowly steals their father’s memories, the siblings rush to preserve his life in stories and in photographs. As his secret past brings Lena’s own childhood into focus, it sends her on a journey to discover the true meaning of home.

Henry’s novels always touch my heart. I’m able to relax with some lovely southern fiction and get to know characters I’d like to know in real life. I’d suggest pairing this up with a nice pinot noir.

*****

henry

Patti Callahan Henry is a New York Times bestselling author of fifteen novels, including the historical fiction, BECOMING MRS. LEWIS – The Improbable Love Story of Joy  Davidman and C.S. Lewis. Patti’s books include Losing the Moon, Between the Tides; Where the River Runs; When Light Breaks; Between the Tides; The Art of Keeping Secrets; Driftwood Summer; The Perfect Love Song: A Holiday Story; Coming Up for Air; And Then I Found You; The Stories We Tell; The Idea of Love, The Bookshop at Water’s End, Becoming Mrs. Lewis and The Favorite Daughter.

A finalist in the Townsend Prize for Fiction, an Indie Next Pick, an OKRA pick, and a multiple nominee for the Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance (SIBA) Novel of the Year, Patti is published in numerous languages. Her articles and essays have appeared in Southern Living, PINK, Writer’s Digest, Portico Magazine, Birmingham Magazine and more.

Her essays can also be found in anthologies and collections such as Our Prince of Scribes: Writers Remember Pat Conroy; Southern Writers Writing, and State of the Heart. Patti is a frequent speaker at luncheons, book clubs and women’s groups.

http://www.patticallahanhenry.com

Thanks to Berkley Publishing we have one copy to give away. Just tell us what you love about “southern fiction.” We’ll announce a winner soon. Good luck.

GIVEAWAY: USA only,  please.

VALENCIA and VALENTINE by Suzy Krause – SPOTLIGHT & Giveaway

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

Valencia and Valentine-27595-CV-FT-2

For readers of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine, debut author Suzy Krause delivers a colorful story about love, loss, second chances, and what it means to truly live in her novel, VALENCIA and VALENTINE (LakeUnionPublishing).

Valencia, a timid debt collector with crippling OCD, is afraid of many things, but the two that scare her most are flying and turning thirty-five. To confront those fears, Valencia’s therapist suggests that she fly somewhere—anywhere—before her upcoming birthday. And as Valencia begins a telephone romance with a man from New York, she suddenly has a destination in mind. There’s only one problem—he might not actually exist.

Mrs. Valentine is an eccentric old woman desperate for company, be it from neighbors, telemarketers, or even the funeral director (when you’re her age, you go to a lot of funerals). So she’s thrilled when the new cleaning girl provides a listening ear for her life’s story—a tale of storybook love and incredible adventures around the world with her husband before his mysterious and sudden disappearance.

The stories of Valencia and Mrs. Valentine may at first appear to have nothing in common…but then again, nothing in life is as straightforward as it seems.

I’ve read both Eleanor and now VALENCIA and VALENTINE and can’t help but think this is the start of a new genre of “regular people living regular lives,” but with a twist of some quirky sort.

suzy

Suzy grew up in the village of Frontier, Saskatchewan, two hours from the nearest McDonald’s, one hour from the nearest movie theatre, half an hour from the nearest swimming pool. She now lives in Regina—the Queen City!—and it has all of those things and she doesn’t really use any of them. It’s small compared to New York, but compared to Frontier, it’s basically a megalopolis.

Suzy is a writer and a music lover. She’s been blogging (here and elsewhere) for over a decade, but she also writes, from time to time, on various arts, entertainment, and lifestyle websites. Valencia and Valentine is her first novel, inspired by her time working as a debt collector in Saskatoon (she received a lot of death threats that summer).

Writing a book has been on her to-do list since she was six-ish, so it’s good that she did it.

http://www.suzykrause.com

Thanks to Lake Union Publishing we have one copy to give away. Just tell us what you know about OCD. We’ll announce a winner soon. Good luck.

GIVEAWAY: USA only, please.